Photo gallery attached

Mexico Bulldog wrestling team hosted its annual Bulldog Invitational Saturday and won the tournament with a total of 299 points. Other teams participating were Mexico Military Academy, Moberly, Principia, St. James and Blair Oaks. Moberly came in second.
Receiving the "Lambo" award was Jake Vitale on his winning ways he wrestled Cole Kemna. Kemna was a runner up last year at the state tournament in Class 1. Vitale beat Kemna 6-0. "Jake wrestled a solid match he had two takedowns and a reversal in the match," stated MHS coach Gayle Adams.
In the finale duel of the day Mexico wrestled conference rival Moberly it was a great duel, according to Adams. The team really came together as a team. I felt everyone was picking each other up and wrestling hard," said the MHS coach.
At 195 Thorne Cheney wrestled Jalen Troy (Moberly) in a very tight match with Cheney winning 3-2. "Cheney was working hard on moves we have been working on the last few weeks in the practice room," said Adams.
Freshman's Scott Speaks and Jordan Jones are off to a good start this season they are learning the every day grind of the season and they are getting more physical everyday. Sophomore Hunter Smith at 120 is really setting the tempo in the matches this season. He has worked hard this off season in the weight room and on the mat. "The team had another great weekend of wrestling," Adams said of his wrestlers.
This week Mexico wrestling has a junior vastity duel match tonight at home against Helias. The varsity team returns to action this weekend at the Harrisonville Christmas Tournament. The Harrisonville tournaments has 24 teams in it and it is a two-day event.
Mexico results from Saturday's tournament are listed below:
Match Summary Mexico 60, St. James 18.
113 Daniel McCarthy won by dec. over Jadin Taylor, 9-4.
120 Hunter Smith pinned Sean Hunter, 1:35.
126 Jordan Jones, bye.
132 Scotts Speaks pinned Seth Thompson, 1:35.
138 Daniel Davis pinned J.W. Turner 1:11.
145 Jayde Moran pinned Taylor Busche, 3:59.
152 Jake Vitale pinned Cameron Orlando, 1:32.
160 Samuel Fayad pinned Mason Ragland, 1:26.
170 Marshall Woolsey won by dec. over Dalton Wilson, 9-2.
182 Payton Turner pinned Robert Watson, 5:42.
195 Thorne Cheney pinned Jake Gleason, 2:32.
220 John Lummis, bye.
285 Zach Manns, bye.
Match Summary Mexico 75, MMA 0.
113 Jadin Taylor pinned Edward Geernaert, 0:28.
120 Hunter Smith pinned Quentin Heasler, 1:17.
126, Jordan Jones, bye.
132, Scott Speakers, bye.
138 J.W. Turner won by dec. over Jon Johnston, 5-1.
145 Jayde Moran pinned Jack Moore, 1:58.
152 Jake Vitale pinned Brandon Doggett, 0:28.
160 Samuel Fayad pinned Kurtis Mennemeier, 0:34.
170 Dalton Wilson, bye.
182 Payton Turner, bye.
195 Thorne Cheney pinned Corey Trent 9:31.
220 John Lummis pinned Fernando Blanco, 0:56.
285 Zach Manns pinned David Lazcano, 3:26.
Match Summary Mexico 43, Blair Oaks 33.
120 Frankie Falotico pinned Hunter Smith, 3:59.
126 Jordan Jones pinned Hunter Beazley, 1:53.
132 Scott Speaks won by maj. dec. over Alex Gaydos, 10-2.
138 Logan Mudd pinned J.W. Turner, 1:28.
145 Brad Thomas won by decision over Jayde Moran,12-10.
152 Jake Vitale won by decision over Cole Kemna, 6-0.
160 Samuel Fayad won by forfeit.
170 Dalton Wilson pinned Caleb Bischoff, 2:54.
182 Payton Turner won by forfeit.
195 Thorne Cheney won by forfeit
220 John Karsten pinned John Lummis, 0:48.
285 Austin Wilbers pinned Zach Manns, 1:06.
106 Dylan Bischoff won by forfeit
113 Jadin Taylor won by forfeit.
Match Summary Mexico 73, Pincipia 6.
126 Jordan Jones won by decision over Matt Ross, 6-5.
132 Scott Speaks won by forfeit.
138 J.W. Turner won by forfeit.
145 Jayde Moran won by maj. dec. over Cesar Bermudez, 16-3.
152 Jake Vitale won by forfeit.
160 Samuel Fayad pinned Addison Alder, 2:49.
170 Dalton Wilson won by forfeit .
182 Payton Turner won by forfeit.
195 Thorne Cheney won by forfeit.
220 John Lummis won by forfeit.
285 Zach Manns won by forfeit.
106 Gavin Frager won by forfeit.
113 Jadin Taylor won by forfeit.
120 Hunter Smith pinned Jason McEntire, 5:20.
Match Summary Mexico 48, Moberly 25.
132 Scott Speaks won by dec. over Austin Ward, 7-2.
138 Dominick Guthrie pinned J.W. Turner,1:40.
145 Travis Gittemeier won by dec. over Jayde Moran, 7-6.
152 Jake Vitale pinned Brennen Dixson, 2:18.
160 Blake Joiner won by maj. dec. over Samuel Fayad, 13-4.
170 Dalton Wilson pinned Jake Flood, 5:47.
182 Payton Turner pinned Trae Ford, 2:31.
195 Thorne Cheney won by dec. over Jalen Troy, 3-2.
220 John Lummis pinned Mickey Sires, 1:26.
285 Jeff Kinder pinned Zach Manns,0:25.
106 Chase Meyer received a bye.
113 Jadin Taylor pinned Clayton Gravett, 2:27.
120 Hunter Smith received a bye.
126 Jordan Jones pinned Cobie Dixson, 5:40.