Earn trip to state championships

Members of the Mexico High School wrestling team had a successful Class 2A District 2 Tournament this past weekend, bringing home seven state qualifiers.
Senior Jake Vitale, who remains undefeated, wrestling at 145 pounds, and freshman Jordan Jones, 226 pounds, both brought home first-place medals; placing second were sophomore Hunter Smith, 120, and junior Payton Turner, 182 pounds; sophomore Jayde Moran, 138 pounds, placed third; sophomore Jadin Taylor, 113 pounds, and junior Sam Fayad, 152 pounds, placed fourth. Taylor lost in overtime to Darion Young.
"Jadin has improved this year and has worked hard and lost in an exciting match in overtime," said MHS coach Gayle Adams.
All seven wrestlers will compete in the State Wrestling Championships this weekend in Columbia which ties a school record of the number of wrestlers going to the state tournament. Two wrestlers, Moran and Turner placed higher than they were seeded. Moran was seeded fifth and placed third, while Turner was seeded third and came in second.
"I am very pleased with the state qualifiers, and the kids who did not qualify," said the MHS coach.
Scott Speaks lost on a do or die match to John Heimann from Moberly. Speaks had two penalty points in the match. Adams said Speaks outwrestled Heimann, he just needed to have a cleaner match. Minor and Manns were on the bubble in advancing to state.
Also wrestling this weekend at the district tournament were Dalton Logerman, Anthony Brower and John Lummis.
The wrestlers will spend this week getting ready for state. Some of the wrestlers will have rematches at state with opponents they wrestled in regular season. All but one wrestler, Vitale, will return next year to the team.
The state tournament begins at 10 a.m. at the Mizzou Arena with first round and first round wrestle backs. The quarter finals will begin at 9:30 a.m. Friday with second round wrestle backs. Third round wrestle backs will be held at 6 p.m. Friday. Fourth round wrestle backs begin at 9:30 a.m. Saturday followed with placement matches beginning at 4:30.
Jadin Taylor (3-2) - 4th - Team Points: 13.0
113: Taylor received a bye.Taylor won by pin over Brendan Politte (Winfield) 2:53. Ethan Rentschler (Kirksville) won by major decision over Taylor 12-2. Taylor won by pin over Zane Norton (John Burroughs School) 1:50. Darion Young (McCluer South-Berkeley) won in sudden victory 1 over Taylor 12-10.
Hunter Smith (3-1) - 2nd - Team Points: 22.0
120: Smith won by pin over Kimberly Straub (McCluer South-Berkeley) 0:00. Smith won by pin over Brian Thomas (Winfield) 1:53. Smith won by pin over Jason Pae (Fulton) 2:54. Brendan Hachtel (St. Charles West) won by decision over Smith 6-3.
Jordan Jones (4-0) - 1st - Team Points: 24.0
Jones received a bye. Jones won by pin over Julian Askew (University City) 2:00. Jones won by pin over Eric Nevels (Winfield) 0:40. Jones won by decision over Branden Beeler (Kirksville) 4-0.
Scott Speaks (3-2) - DNP - Team Points: 2.0
Speaks received a bye. John Williams (McCluer South-Berkeley) won by tech fall over Speaks 4:35 16-0. Speaks received a bye. Speaks won by decision over Colburn Wagner (Priory) 7-2. John Heimann (Moberly) won by decision over Speaks 2-1.
Jayde Moran (5-1) - 3rd - Team Points: 18.0
Moran won by pin over Delvon Anderson (Clayton) 2:36.Trenton Clines (Fulton) won by decision over Moran 4-0.Jayde Moran won by pin over Jack Grady (John Burroughs School) 0:49.Moran won by pin over James Javaux (Winfield) 0:35. Moran won by decision over Mike Barnett (St. Charles West) 5-0. Moran won by decision over Nick Scherer (MICDS) 10-8.
Jake Vitale (4-0) - 1st - Team Points: 26.0
145: Vitale received a bye. Vitale won by pin over Mason Kestner (St Charles) 0:00. Vitale won by pin over Steven Biondo (St. Charles West) 1:50. Vitale won by pin over Trey Hudson (Fulton) 0:53.
Samuel Fayad (3-2) - 4th - Team Points: 11.0
Fayad won by major decision over Sammy Fuqua (McCluer South-Berkeley) 12-0. Fayad won by decision over Tony Mcfadden (St. Charles West) 6-1. Kyle Lippmann (Winfield) won by decision over Fayad 7-4. Fayad won by major decision over Alex Haueisen (Priory) 10-0. Tre Stewart (Kirksville) won by decision over Fayad 5-2.
Dalton Logerman (2-2) - DNP - Team Points: 4.0
160: Nathan Sowers (Moberly) won by pin over Logerman 0:49.Logerman received a bye. Logerman won by pin over Dorian Sneddon (Kirksville) 3:21. Hunter Wilkins (John Burroughs School) won by pin over Logerman 1:36.
Anthony Brower (2-2) - DNP - Team Points: 3.0
170: Brower received a bye. Blake Rugraff (St. Charles West) won by pin over Anthony Brower 0:00. Brower won by pin over Zach Ham (Winfield) 3:00. Charles Barnes (MICDS) won by pin over Brower 0:51.
Payton Turner (3-1) - 2nd - Team Points: 18.0
182: Turner received a bye. Turner won by decision over Ryan Meyer (St. Charles West) 17-12. Turner won by disqualification over Christian Bledsoe (John Burroughs School). Makenna Cook (Kirksville) won by injury default over Payton Turner 0:00.
Adrian Minor (3-2) - DNP - Team Points: 9.0
195: Minor (Mexico) won by pin over Jacob Priester (Missouri Military Academy) 3:36. Khaliq Snow (Priory) won by decision over Minor 12-7. Minor won by major decision over Jalen Troy (Moberly) 16-4. Minor won by pin over Alec Hanselman (John Burroughs School) 2:13. Andelson Perez (St. Charles West) won by decision over Minor 11-5.
John Lummis (1-2) - DNP - Team Points: 0.0
220: Lummis received a bye. Taylor Boyce (Priory) won by pin over Lummis 2:00. Devoisier Malet (McCluer South-Berkeley) won by pin over Lummis 2:10.
Zach Manns (3-2) - DNP - Team Points: 8.0
285: Manns won by pin over Jordan Kodner (Clayton) 4:09. Jeff Kinder (Moberly) won by pin over Manns 0:00. Manns received a bye. Manns won by injury default over Brandon Tajkarimi (Priory) 0:00. Clayton Bristol (Fulton) won by pin over Manns 0:53.