Chris Williams takes oath again

Congratulations filled the air at the Mexico City Council meeting Monday night.
Mayor Ron Loesch was voted by his peers to serve another term. Mayor Pro Tem Steve Nichols will keep his title, and Councilman Christopher Williams returns after winning re-election in the early-April general election. Mexico Public Safety Major Brice Mesko was also recognized for his recent graduation from the 10-week National FBI Academy program.
Loesch was nominated by Councilman Dan Botts and Councilman Greg Miller seconded the motion. Botts also nominated Nichols for mayor pro tem, but the motion failed for lack of a second. City Attorney Lou Leonatti called for a second nomination, which drew no response. Botts again nominated Nichols and Williams seconded the motion. The council approved both 4-0.
Following Williams reciting the oath of office and Mesko's recognition, it was business as usual for the council.
Council accepted certification of the General Election results, between incumbent Councilman Williams and his opponent one-time councilman Michael Myers. According to the results, Myers won Mexico 1, 89 to 86, and absentee voters support 15 to 12. Williams captured winning numbers in Mexico 2-3-4 (119 to 117) and in Mexico 5-6 (173 to 89), giving him the win, 378 to 295. Council approved the results, 5-0.
The council approved a refuse service contract with Dayne's Waste Disposal, Inc. of Mexico, to provide collection, processing and disposal of residential solid waste. In April 2004, the city began a 10-year residential sanitation services contract with Dayne's Waste Disposal, with the final year of the contract being April 1, 2013 through March 31, 2014.
City advertised a request for proposal in January for a 10-year exclusive contract for collection services for the period beginning April 1, 2014 and ending March 31, 2014. On March 1, city received proposals from Dayne's Waste Disposal and Republic Services Inc., of Jefferson City. Given the "exceptional service" provided by Dayne's over the past nine years and the pricing scale offered, council voted 5-0 to award the contract to Dayne's.
Dayne's Waste Disposal collects trash once a week for 4,308 Mexico residences, collecting roughly 300 tons of trash monthly. In addition to Mexico, Dayne's Disposal also provides sanitation services for every mile radius.
The council also approved the following:
• A resolution authorizing an agreement with Missouri Builders Service, Inc., for roof repairs on the Wastewater Treatment Plant. The company will furnish labor and material to complete the task and provide a 20-year warranty. Council approved 5-0.
• A resolution approving an agreement with Shafer, Kline & Warren, Inc., to provide boundary surveys at four parks and recreational sites. Council approved 5-0.
• A resolution for the city to continue its agreement with the County of Audrain, the county clerk and collector to collect motor vehicle licenses fees, city personal property and real estate taxes. The city entered into an agreement with the county in 1986 to allow the collector to send out tax bills and collect the city's personal property and real estate taxes. That agreement was revised in 2000 to include the collection of city motor vehicle license fees. The new agreement continues the county-city relationship, showing a slight increase in the county's collection fees for tax collection services. The new agreement also removes the $2,000 fee previously charged by the county to the city for use of county facilities for the billing and collection activities. Council approved the resolution, 5-0.
During council comments, Councilman Williams said some area citizens are anxious to see their park dollars at work, and "want to see something big." He urged city staff to "try and squeeze something new for the citizens."
Councilman Miller welcomed members of the Mexico Area Chamber of Commerce Student Ambassadors and Chamber Director Dana Keller, who attended for the mayor and mayor pro tem elections and Williams' return to the council. Ambassadors present were DayNeisha Shivers, Gabrielle Keller and Gib Graham.
The meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.