Sets foal for the campaign

The United Way of Audrain County held its kickoff luncheon Thursday to introduce campaign volunteers, board of directors and to announce its campaign goal of $125,000.
David Neuendorf, President/CEO of Audrain Medical Center, welcomed those attending. Tim Seidel, chairman of the 2013 campaign, addressed the crowd before the podium was turned over to the guest speaker Dr. Ken Burle, Burle Chiropractic.
Dr. Burle talked about the importance the United Way provides to its 12 agencies. Burle is the father of twins who were born premature and are students at the Children's Therapy Early Education School, which is one of the agencies funded by the United Way.
Other agencies receiving funds from the United Way are A+ for Mexico Education, Agape House of Vandalia, Rug Rats 4-H Group, the Help Center, American Red Cross, Audrain County Crisis Intervention, ACHD – Medical Assistance Program, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Rainbow House – Child Advocacy Center, CMCA Family Development Program, Northeast Community Service Agency, Senior Nutrition Center, St. Joseph Early Learning Center and the Mexico Area YMCA.
As in the past, this year's campaign will include the Robert McIntosh Corporate Citizenship Award, which is an opportunity and challenge for local and area corporations to raise the most money (through payroll deductions) for United Way and win the bragging rights and traveling trophy for one year.
The 2013 Campaign volunteers include: Seidel; Darren Stice, vice chairman; Neuendorf, past chairman; Mike Fuller, Major Employer chairman along with Martin Keller, Kelly Smith, Penny Daugherty, Janis Deimeke, Heather DeMint and Erma Wry; Dolly Jesse, Public Sector chairperson along with Melanie Oetting, Josh Frantz, Jennifer Frey, Sterling Oliver, Jodie Penn and Tammy Kobush; Randy Owings, General Business Division; Sally Crow and The Senior Center, United Way Agencies; Gary and Erma Wrye, Farming Community and Kay Robnett, Laddonia/Martinsburg.
Board of directors include Daugherty, president; Keller, vice president; Sharon Henke, secretary; Steve Kreyling, treasurer; Bruce Slagle, Oetting, Kobush, Connie Cox-Maxwell, Neuendorf, Owings and Chad Shoemaker.
Mary Jo Harris is the executive director.