Filing for Audrain County government offices will open Tuesday morning

The filing period for those interested in filing candidacy for Audrain County government offices, subject to the Aug. 5, 2014 primary election, will open 8 a.m., Feb. 25 and close 5 p.m., March 25, 2014.
Filing will take place at the Audrain County Clerk's Office, at the courthouse.
Offices for election this year include Associate Circuit Judge, Circuit Clerk, Presiding Commissioner, County Clerk, Collector of Revenue, Treasurer, Recorder of Deeds and Prosecuting Attorney.  
Candidates will need the following documentation at the time of filing: proof of identity; a copy of an affidavit filed with the Department of Revenue affirming the candidate is not currently delinquent in the filing or payment of any state income taxes, personal property taxes, real property taxes on the place of residence as stated on the declaration of candidacy or is not a past or present corporate officer of any fee office that owes any taxes to the state, other than those taxes which may be in dispute. Forms are available on the DOR website or in the County Clerk's office.
Candidates are also required to provide a paid receipt from the political party for a filing fee of $50 for the county office. The fee may be paid at the time of filing and will be forwarded to party representatives.
Candidates filing for the office of Treasurer or Collector of Revenue must present a copy of a signed affidavit from a surety company authorized to do business in this state, indicating that the candidate meets the statutory bond requirements for the office for which the candidate is filing.
A first day random drawing will be done to determine candidates' ballot position for the Aug. 5 primary election. Candidates who file from the second day through the last day will be listed on the ballot by their filing order, following all first day filers.
Declarations of candidacy may also be filed for political offices of township or precinct committee members. These posts will be elected at the primary election.
Contact Shelley Harvey, Audrain County Clerk/election authority, at (573) 473-5380 with any questions or concerns.