Golfers honor veterans at event

On Aug. 9, 36 four-person teams brushed aside the misty weather and made their way to the Arthur Hills Golf Course to take part in the 'Scramble for Freedom,' the 15th annual golf tournament sponsored by the Missouri Veterans' Home – Mexico Assistance League.  Proceeds from the event directly benefit  residents of the Veterans' Home, allowing them go on outings and/or take part in activities, to enhance the surroundings and receive assistance for personal needs when required.
Before the event began, the Martinsburg VFW Post 552 presented the colors and then led the crowd in the Pledge of Allegiance. Following the singing of the national anthem, Post 552 then presented a flag to WWII veteran Bob Poage, age 95, a resident at the Missouri Veterans Home. After this patriotic moment, the contestants received the order to start.
The results for the annual golf tournament are as follows:
The 'Misfits,' a team composed of Mike Chapman, M. Hibbs, Carl Willingham, Jr. and Terry Henage,  won the Champions Flight. The team of  Dave Neuendorf, Eric Paden, David Neuendorf and Brian Grote finished second while the team of Cheryl and Clyde Oligschlaeger, Lance Bowling and J. Bowling claimed third.
The team of Logan Carter, Steven Dirk, Dave Moser and Casey Cute won Flight A.  Finishing second was the team of Robert Doebelin, Bob Slimmer, H. Kleinsorge and J. Kelsey. The 'Ad Finder' team, Bill Davenport, Jim Bridgford, Ron Johnston and Jack Davis, claimed third.
The team of Justin Martin, Sam Ball, Nick Hardy and Travis Jacobs won Flight B. Finishing second was the team of Ron Leible, Michael Holland, Jordan Holland and Dustin Lacy. The team of Brian Hunt, Tom Baldwin, David Slover and Brad Haggard claimed third.
Jeanette Gutermuth won the Ladies Longest Drive competition; John Weant won the Men’s Longest Drive competition;  Dick Brandt was the Closest to Pin contest winner.