Farm Bureau holds annual meeting

Three educators received mini-grants last week at the Audrain County Farm Bureau annual meeting. Kayla Long, first grade teacher at McMillan, and Kendra Allen, agriculture teacher at Hart Career Center, were present to receive their checks. Also receiving a mini-grant but not present was Vanessa Kerr, a teacher at St. Brendan Catholic School. The grants are to promote agriculture in the classroom. The teachers each received $125 at the meeting and will receive the other $125 when they complete the grant project.
Guest speaker for the evening was Diane S. Olson, director of promotion and education programs for the Missouri Farm Bureau Federation. She develops and coordinates programs which promote agricultural understanding, leadership development and citizenship.
Olson talked about the success of the Missouri State Fair and what a busy year it has been for the Missouri Farm Bureau. One major thing which happened was “Amendment 1 won at the polls and we hope it holds up,” she said. It was announced Monday, election officials across Missouri will conduct a recount in the coming days. Olson added the Amendment was the right thing for agricultural.  
She also stressed the importance of  instilling agriculture education at an early age. "We should teach why and what we do in agriculture."
Olson bragged on the strength of the Farm Bureau stating this is the 27th year in growth for the state program. "Working together accomplishes more than one person," she concluded. The Audrain Farm Bureau has a quota of 743.
Following the program, Jerry Johnson, Audrain County Farm Bureau member, conducted the election of board members for 2014-2015. Members voted to approve Patty Fennewald as District 1 board member; Darren Reynolds, District 3; Barb Wilson, District 5; and Michele Aulbur member-at-large.
Also addressing the audience was Harry Thompson, State Board Director representing District 3 with Missouri Farm Bureau; Reynolds, Audrain Farm Bureau President; Joan Roth,  secretary/treasurer; and Erma Wrye, office secretary. Prior to the meeting Callie Cox sang the National Anthem and led in the Pledge of Allegiance.