2017 Hairston Hall of Fame Class Announced

FAYETTE, Mo. – The Hairston Hall of Fame Committee at Central Methodist University has announced the 2017 hall of fame class; which includes three individuals and two teams. The Hall of Fame inductions will take place on Saturday, August 26th. The ceremony is scheduled to begin at 1:30 p.m. on the fourth floor of the Inman Student and Community Center.
The 2017 Hairston Hall of Fame class welcomes Laura M. (Stageman) Holtmeyer ('05), Chris (Drummond) Wheeler ('88), Patricia (Wendling) Stokes (’68), the 2009-10 Men's Basketball Team, and the 2011-12 Softball Team.
"The 2017 Hairston Hall of Fame Class is one that will go down in the history books," said CMU Vice-President of Institutional Growth and Student Engagement Ken Oliver. "We have the first female student athlete who received a varsity letter with Patricia Stokes and the first female soccer player at CMU with Chris Wheeler. These two pioneered female athletics at CMU.”
Oliver continued, "Additionally, we have an outstanding female track athlete in Laura Holtmeyer, a softball team that is an all-time best, and a basketball team that is one of the best in school history." 
Laura M. (Stageman) Holtmeyer competed for the CMU Women's Track & Field Program and was a member of the 2005 Graduating Class. While at Central Methodist, she ran the 800-meter leg of the Distance Medley Relay at the NAIA Indoor Nationals in 2003 and 2004. In 2004, they garnered a 5th place finish with a time of 12:14.8, which set the school record at Central Methodist. This record has remained unbroken. She was an All-American in 2003 and 2004. During her career she held the 400-meter outdoor hurdle record, in addition to the 55-meter and 60-meter indoor hurdle record. She also qualified for the indoor pentathlon in 2003. She achieved Academic All-American status at CMU.
Chris (Drummond) Wheeler competed for the Women’s Soccer Program and was a member of the 1988 Graduating Class. Her story began when she tried out for the men’s soccer team and made the team in 1984, becoming the Eagles’ first female soccer player. Chris was the only female to play men’s soccer for two seasons.  She went on to become the captain of the women’s soccer team, after playing for the men’s team for two years.
Patricia (Wendling) Stokes competed for the Women’s Tennis Program and was a member of the 1968 Graduating Class. Patricia was the first female inducted into the varsity athletic “C” Club. She played on the men’s tennis team for four years, after becoming the first female member of the program her freshman year.
The 2009-2010 Men’s Basketball Team was comprised of Jake Clark, Brock Edris, Lucas Dahl, Dan Pierre, Derek Klitch, Mike Regan, Nick Stellwagen, Tyler Bredehoeft, Curtis Smith, Joe Howell, Matt Sherman, Jake Prosser, Eric Franklin, Nic Dykman, and Alvin Brass. The Eagles were led by head coach Jeff Sherman, and he was assisted by Sam McMahon, Charlie Wilson, and Ryan Peterson. The team finished the season with a 24-9 overall record, and won the Heart of America Athletic Conference Regular Season Championship. They also qualified for the NAIA National Tournament; which consisted of 32 teams.
The 2011-2012 Softball Team was comprised of Bri Kirkland, Melaine Wilmsmeyer, Kayla Yount, Courtney Dennis, Rebecca Lipsey, Megan Robbins, Mary Kate Townley, Aubrey Utley, Bri Ford, Kelsey Johnley, Briana Boatwright, Jacqulin Cappuccilli, Kerri Francis, Katelyn Moeller, Rebekah Munday, Shelby Pohlman, Erika Reinagel, Michele Rupard, and Kennedy Seifert. The Eagles were led by head coach Pat Reardon, and he was assisted by Gene Reardon, Kenya Fuemmeler, Steve Siebert, Katie Dove, and Ross Dowell. The team finished the season with a 41-14 overall record, and won both the HAAC Regular Season Championship as well as the HAAC Tournament. They also qualified for the NAIA Softball World Series. 
"I want to congratulate the 2017 Hairston Hall of Fame Class on all of their outstanding accomplishments," said CMU Athletics Director Brian Spielbauer. "The class can be seen as a group of trailblazers that laid the foundation for CMU Athletics. I hope they all enjoy this honor and continue to inspire current and future CMU student athletes."
Hall of Fame Day is scheduled for Saturday, August 26th. Gathering for the Induction Ceremony will take place on the fourth floor in the Inman Student and Community Center's Dealy Room at 1:30 p.m. Following the induction ceremony, the group will adjourn to the Eagle Tailgate Zone for a BBQ dinner at 4 p.m. The class will also be recognized at halftime of Central Methodist's football game against Culver-Stockton College. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m.