Forty-five new members were initiated into the National Honor Society at Mexico High School Wednesday.

The Mexico Chapter of the National Honor Society is a long tradition at MHS. It was founded at McMillan High School in October 1925.

Junior and senior students are eligible for National Honor Society if they have a cumulative 3.5 GPA or above. Students are also required to have a 3.5 GPA or above in the four core areas, English, mathematics, science and social studies.

Students meeting these requirements are evaluated by the entire faculty. They are rated one through five on respect, integrity, cooperation, courtesy, leadership and service. the ratings, along with the student's GPA are compiled into a percentage that must be 85 or above to be admitted into the Mexico Chapter of National Honor Society.

Senior members of the NHS include: DaeJera Aaron-Holman, Morgan Bledsoe, Taylor Brown, Jillian Current, Nathaniel Dick, Shania Early, Elizabeth Finck, Trevor Foley, Hayden Foreman, Makayla Foreman, Travis Hampton, Caleb Harlan, Emily Hercules, Jessica Joiner, Abbygayle Jones, Emily Jones, Elizabeth Kasubke, Breeann Kysar, Cooper Manns, Theodore Martin, Nyja Mitchell, Marcus Moore, Renae Owen, Rebecca Phipps, Brooke Ransom, Makenzie Resa, Caleb Robertson, Greta Runge, Raegan Samm, Kayla Scobee, Dalton Slater, Jonathan Taylor, Grace Troesser, Miguel Vega, Andrew Whitworth, Rachel Willett, Gage Willingham, and Brit Wilson.

A reception was held honoring the new NHS members after the ceremony.