The not-for-profit North East Community Action Corporation (NECAC) is getting ready to take applications for energy assistance in its 12 Missouri counties.

The program begins Nov. 1 for qualifying elderly and disabled clients, and Dec. 1 for families and individuals. NECAC has already mailed applications to people who received assistance last year. New clients may sign up after the dates listed. Applications are available at NECAC County Service Centers or by calling 573-324-0120.

There are two types of assistance available.

The Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) and the Energy Crisis Intervention Program (ECIP) are funded by the federal government and distributed through the states, which contract with non-profit groups such as NECAC to administer the programs at the local level. LIHEAP assists with paying part of the energy bills of income-qualifying people. Eligible households could receive a minimum of $45 up to a maximum of $450, depending upon income, household size and type of heating source. Payments are made directly to utility companies.

The Energy Crisis Intervention Program (ECIP) offers assistance of up to $800 to qualifying households of those who have received a utility shut-off notice. The program usually is not activated until long cold snaps take place.

“We encourage anyone needing heating assistance to apply because this program is an important supplement for many people and families to ensure they stay warm this winter,” said LIHEAP Supervisor Angela Kattenbraker.

Last year, NECAC was awarded $1,255,987 in direct assistance and $154,192 in Utilicare funding and processed 7,711 energy assistance and 5,700 ECIP applications.

This winter, the agency is getting a slight increase in direct assistance at $1,354,825, but has no Utilicare funding.

For more information, call one of the following NECAC County Service Centers:

Lewis County: 408 S. Fourth in Canton -- 573-288-3969.

Lincoln County: 11 Woodcrest Dr. in Troy -- 636-528-7604.

Macon County: 907 Highway PP in Macon -- 660-385-4616.

Marion County: 3518 Palmyra Road in Hannibal -- 573-221-7166.

Monroe County: 314 N. Washington in Paris -- 660-327-4110.

Montgomery County: 137 Farnen in Montgomery City -- 573-564-3606.

Pike County: 805 Bus. Hwy. 61 North in Bowling Green -- 573-324-2207.

Ralls County: Ralls County Courthouse in New London -- 573-985-2411.

Randolph County: 1903 N. Morley Suite B in Moberly -- 660-263-6595.

Shelby County: 204 E. Third in Shelbyville -- 573-633-2210.

St. Charles County: 3400 Meadow Pointe Drive in O’Fallon -- 636-272-3477

Warren County: 120 E. Main in Warrenton -- 636-456-8191